Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Background/Hiring Question

Hi everyone,

A little about me. I have been working in a non-sworn position for the last 5 years with 2 different departments. I have gone through a full background both times and obviously passed both.

I have been trying to get hired as a Police Officer for the past 2 years. I have currently gone through another background with my current department, which I passed, and am on the hiring list. I also was in the process with another department. Passed poly and was in backgrounds.

For the other department I met with my BI for initial interview. I know he then picked up my packet from my current employer and previous, met with my parents and siblings. After that I was called in for a follow up interview regarding 2 or 3 small clarifications and to check my social networking accounts. At the end of the meeting my BI advised he would be gone for a week and would finish up with references, home visit etc when he returned.

Fast forward 3-4 weeks later, I reach out to my BI to touch base mainly to let him know my wife was going to be out of town for the holidays coming up. The next day I get an email saying sorry we have fully considered you but unable to offer you a position at this time. I was quite confused as I knew none of my references etc had been contacted and emailed the Personnel Sgt to clarify my status if I had been disqualified for some reason. His response was that I was eligible to re-apply and I was not disqualified, I just was not chosen by the Chief out of a small group that were compared.

Something isn't sitting right with me about it. I don't see how my background could be considered finished when I know my supervisor, friends, co-workers, and house visit. It is frustrating as I am not really sure how to address it when applying to other departments.

Am I looking to much into it? Any opinions?

Originally posted by BayArea11 View Post
    Hi everyone,