300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Responding to a background inquiry

So I'm planning on applying to my local department next year when they are hiring again, but ironically I am here to ask a question about someone else's background investigation. I am a retail manager, in charge if about 40 people. Today I received a background questionnaire for a former employee of mine who is apparently applying for a LEO position. I terminated this employee for theft about 8 months ago. To me, this would be pretty cut and dry. I would simply fill the form out and check "YES" to illegal activity, discipline issues and terminated. In comments I would simply write, "Terminated for theft". However, I do work for a big corporation and it is policy to send any outside employment inquiries to Human Resources. I called HR and they told me in no uncertain terms that they nor I would reveal that this employee was terminated for theft. We would not be revealing that he was terminated at all and we would not be giving any indication as to whether we would rehire him. They told me that the company has a strict policy of providing only neutral references in all cases and that all we are allowed to say are dates of employment.

This kind if irks me, both as an LEO candidate myself and as the person who caught this guy stealing. Would I be crossing a line by contacting his background investigator myself and telling him what I know? What are the odds of it getting back to me at work if I did so? Would I be unnecessarily jeopardizing my own chances of landing a LEO job in the future by doing this (by possibly incurring a write-up from my bosses if they found out)?

Tough situation. But you have to do what's right. And you and only you know what's right.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Comment

Originally posted by Mueller77 View Post