300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Questions about hiring

Hey everyone, I have a quick question. So recently I decided I would like employment as a police officer, I started some online searching and saw that a lot of departments require 60 college credits or 2 years military service with honrable discharge . I'm 21 and haven't started college yet, I'm going to but would hate to wait 2 years for the job.

Anyway I'm from Philadelphia and was wondering if there are any places that do not require the credits. I heard that there were, but honestly not sure...

You do some research to determine which agencies require only a HS diploma or a GED. As you're discovering, many agencies are now requiring college hours or even degrees. That being the case, it would seem to be up to you to prepare yourself to be a competitive applicant.

Comment

Originally posted by Nelsonn View Post
      , I'm going to but would hate to wait 2 years for the job.
      Right now NATIONWIDE it is AVERAGING 2-5 yrs and 10+ application cycles to get hired in Law Enforcement

That is AVERAGE----You would have to be "super special) to break the average- And from your above post you have no special qualities that would cause you to by-pass the law of averages
      Since some people need to be told by notes in crayon .......Don't PM me with without prior permission. If you can't discuss the situation in the open forum ----it must not be that important

My new word for the day is FOCUS, when someone irritates you tell them to FOCUS

Comment

Has diploma is the MINIMUM. Why would they look at you over college/military?
        Stop being lazy and go to school.
        Now go home and get your shine box!

Comment

Just to give you a little insight since I was hired recently. I have a 4 year degree AND 6 years active duty including combat tours. I still wasn't the first on the list to get hired. That's how competitive it in this world.

Comment