Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Applying Elsewhere

Hello everyone,

I have a question that I'm having a bit of trouble finding the answer to amid the pool of items that come up in a search. My file has recently been sent up to the Baltimore City Police Department's hiring board (3 weeks ago tomorrow). I don't really want to hedge my bets on this one department, even though I'd absolutely kill to work for them, and my current employer wanted me to limit all aspects of an application process to one at a time. As I'm just waiting on a phone call, my employer has given me the go ahead to apply to additional departments

Am I supposed to keep Baltimore updated on anywhere else I might apply as of right now, even though the file has been sent up for hiring review? I ask this question because it is my understanding that the reasoning behind keeping your BI updated on these other agencies is to keep your background up to date, but my background is now finished.

Also, is it in poor taste to apply to other departments in the mean time, or should I wait until I receive the final yes or no? That's what I've been doing, but I'm getting the vibe from the rest of this area of the forum that relying upon a single agency at a time is a poor strategy for getting hired.

Thanks!
    Last edited by Seraphym; 09-10-2014, 01:03 PM.

If BPD asked if you had applied to any other agencies while you were in their hiring process-----------I would notify your BI of the new application.

If it wasn't brought up during the process ------I wouldn't bother
    My new word for the day is FOCUS, when someone irritates you tell them to FOCUS

Comment

Originally posted by Iowa #1603 View Post
      If BPD asked if you had applied to any other agencies while you were in their hiring process-----------I would notify your BI of the new application.

If it wasn't brought up during the process ------I wouldn't bother