Leader

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Is there such a thing as being 'TOO honest'?

Collapse

300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Is there such a thing as being 'TOO honest'?

Just got done with sending in my background packet with an agency. One of the questions that I thought was odd was, "Would you arrest your friends if you caught them doing drugs?". yes/no. I checked no because honestly, I wouldn't. If I caught my friends doing drugs I would most likely try talk to them about it and try to get them to stop but I wouldn't throw them in jail for it. They may be idiots but they're still my friends. But I feel like by checking no I kinda screwed myself and maybe I should have checked yes?

This question isn't the only thing that makes me wonder. I'm not a perfect person, my background isn't squeaky clean. But every mistake I have made was in the past when I was young and dumb, and I have changed and matured a lot since then. But sometimes I feel like those few mistakes that I have made are making it absolutely impossible for me to get hired. And I hear a lot of mixed advice from people including police officers. I hear people tell me "be absolutely truthful and honest throughout the whole process and you'll get hired", "honesty goes a long way, those are the type of candidates we look for", and then I hear actual police officers tell me, when I talked to them about my situation, "oh so you were being TOO honest"..

Integrity is all you have in this profession. You will spend your entire career being judged by others. Those people have to trust you do do the right thing and to tell them the truth.