Collapse

300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Is a college degree really necessary ?

Hey guys , I'm starting the application process for several LE departments. All of the ones in my area say, the minimum requirements is a high school diploma, or a GED. Now I know departments don't hire people who only meet
    Minimum requirements. I never went to college because I went to a tech school for high school, and got a trade and started working directly after I graduated. My question is with my work experience I graduated in 2006, how much will not having degree hurt me in getting hired ? IDE like the idea of getting a degree but with just buying a house and trying to start a family and the cost of college now a days if it's not a must I might not do it. I'm hoping my good test scores, my steady job history, and my CPR and EMT training will hopefully make people forget I don't have a BA, what do you guys think ?

Originally posted by B16bri View Post
    Hey guys , I'm starting the application process for several LE departments. All of the ones in my area say, the minimum requirements is a high school diploma, or a GED. Now I know departments don't hire people who only meet
    Minimum requirements. I never went to college because I went to a tech school for high school, and got a trade and started working directly after I graduated. My question is with my work experience I graduated in 2006, how much will not having degree hurt me in getting hired ? IDE like the idea of getting a degree but with just buying a house and trying to start a family and the cost of college now a days if it's not a must I might not do it. I'm hoping my good test scores, my steady job history, and my CPR and EMT training will hopefully make people forget I don't have a BA, what do you guys think ?