300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• College athlete looking into LE

I know there are a lot of posts similar to this but I would like an opinion on my profile situation.

I am currently a college student pursuing my B.A. Degree. I have never got in any trouble with the law. I have no prior use of drugs or even alcohol. Nor do I have any speeding tickets. I've never even got into a fist fight. I don't consider myself a quiet person, but I'm never going to be one to be too outspoken either. I'm a sprinter on my university's track team, so I have limited work history. I've been told on numerous occasions that I'm "too nice" to be an officer. But I don't think so. I always thought that you have to personable to be a cop. What are my chances in the application process? Should I apply before I graduate? I'll be 21 at the time of graduation.

Your chances are from 0-100% depending on a multitude of things we know nothing about.

Comment

Exactly who is telling you that you are 'too nice' to be a LEO? People watch alot of police shows and believe everything they see on news broadcasts? The job requires you to talk to all types of people in all walks of life. Have to know more too give an assessment.
      Judge me by the enemies I have made----Unknown

Comment

Zeitgeist is correct.

Being nice and sympathetic with the capacity for human emotion is part of the job. Always arresting people and writing citations is not what this is about.

Many agencies are pushing community policing and social media to win the hearts and minds of the community.

On the other hand... To quote Road House "Be nice, until it's time to not be nice."

Comment

I am 5'5", 155 lbs, and over 40. Nice is all I have going for me!

Being nice goes a long way. It doesn't take much jackassednessâ„¢ to talk yourself in to a fight. It just goes smoother when you are nice.

And make no mistake, you can still whoop a man's arse while remaining as nice as can be.