300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hiring Dillemas

I am about three weeks into my new position as a CO with my Counties Sheriff’s Office. I love the job, and my FTO is extremely good at his job, I feel very lucky to be in the situation I am. But, while I was in the hiring process I continued applying elsewhere, and about the same time I accepted the position I have, I moved into background with a local police agency.

Now I realize that moving to background is not a job, and even a conditional offer is not a job, however I am one of five people moving forward for five positions, and my background is very clean. That said if everything goes as planned I will have a bit of a dilemma.

I want to work in Police Services, and so for me corrections is a time to learn and grow as much as I can in order to become the best officer possible. However I may be presented with the opportunity to forgo the time in corrections and move directly to my goal of going on patrol.

Thus my dilemma, I have been very open with my current employer so that is not a problem, but I need to make a decision. I know that a lot of this is personal, but I would like to hear people’s opinions about the differences in environment between SO’s and PD’s. This particular PD is very small and highly focused on community policing, which is something that is exciting to me. However the SO is much bigger and might have a bit more in terms of resources (ie. SORT teams and such). The biggest benefit is that the PD will send me directly to Academy this October, whereas with the SO I will only get a 6 week correctional academy and would have to re-attend full academy in a few years. The other benefit is that while the call volume is lower at the PD, they put you on a FTO program with a much larger PD that actually works closely with them which allows training on high call volume.