Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• PT test questions

Hello ladies and gents,

Just a quick question regarding entry PT tests. I am currently an officer in a department that has zero PT requirements. I try and get to the gym several times a week, but my downfall is I rarely do any cardio. When I went to academy 2 years ago I was running a mile around 7:30 and during academy I was hitting the 1.5 around 11:45.

I have since been diagnosed with a case of patrol ***. I have gained 10 pounds, some of which is muscle as I have continued my lifting regularly, but not nearly as much as I'd like.

I have applied at another department who has a mile time of 8:50 for a male of my age range. I did some jogging the last few weeks (after sundown because 100 degree days are insane) and went from a 9 minute mile to a 8:48. Needless to say I am feeling a little worried, and I am going to be stepping up my jogging for the next two weeks before the testing takes place.

I am 100 percent confident I am going to rock the pushups and setups, but that time disturbs me. As I come from a Dept with almost zero physical standards, I don't know what emphasis is put on PT results. If I run an 8:48 and squeak by, am I pretty much considered a fatty who got lucky or what? This is a weird feeling for me, as I've always been able to hit the requirements with relative ease, and the patrol lifestyle has really caught up with me, it seems.

Thoughts?

Originally posted by Hanmo View Post
    Hello ladies and gents,

Just a quick question regarding entry PT tests. I am currently an officer in a department that has zero PT requirements. I try and get to the gym several times a week, but my downfall is I rarely do any cardio. When I went to academy 2 years ago I was running a mile around 7:30 and during academy I was hitting the 1.5 around 11:45.