300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Background

I just finished reading the "applicant's guide to getting hired" sticky. Fantastic piece. I see the background check is after the interview process. So that says to me you have the opportunity to sell yourself prior to being asked about an incident in your pass which could play a deciding factor in what role that incident plays in you being hired. Would that be accurate?

My concern is this: I am 33 and 14 years ago I have a misdemeanor theft of property on my record. It involved taking money from a restaurant that I worked. Approximately $2500 over the course of several months. It was serious. 2 years probation and full restitution paid. I have disclosed all of this on the application of course.

Since this incident I have: graduated college, worked another 8 years in the restaurant business prior to college, while going to college, and a short time after I graduated college. I have had a successful sales career which included managing a team of employees and a branch as a general manager. I am married with 2 sons. It also includes (which I am hoping will be my integrity solidifier) being a financial advisor which I have been for the past 2 years. Becoming licensed to sell securities was the most extensive background check I have ever seen. And of course this incident was discussed in detail and the firm deliberated over it for some time before deciding to hire me.

I manage millions of dollars of others peoples wealth that I have full discretion to invest how I see fit and to advise them to invest how I see fit. These are regular people that have worked for 20, 30, 40 years and have retired and put their life savings in my hands because of the relationships I have developed with them.