Collapse

300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How much are HS transcripts looked at?

First of all, I would like to thank everyone for the wealth of information posted. Almost all of my questions have been answered either by recent posts or by using that lovely search button.

Now for the question that I do not believe I have seen answered yet (I could be wrong, but I havn't seen it). In high school I screwed off quite a bit. I believe I graduated with a 2.9 GPA and had a lot of missed days because of dumb decisions to skip class. I never failed a class, but still was subpar compared to what I should have been doing. If all goes according to plan, I am on track to graduate an academy in June of 2015, thus getting my certification (not active as I will be self-sponsoring as is the usual in Michigan) as well as two associates, one in CJ and one in arts, all on the same day. What I am worried about is, how much are my HS transcripts going to come into play while in hiring processes?

For a little background into my college "career" so far:
    - Started college in the fall of 2013
    - I am going full time (at least 12 credits for fall / winter semesters and 6 credits for spring / summer semesters)
    - Have signed up for, and paid in full, the rest of my classes, excluding the academy, so I have my schedule for spring / summer / fall semesters of 2014 set in stone
    - Have a 3.5 cumulative GPA so far
    - Had to withdraw from one class, but by withdrawing the class doesn't hurt my cumulative GPA (My father is very ill at the moment, had to take him to medical appointments that interfered with that one class)

Because of the short time it took to get my two associates and my certification, along with the okay GPA, is there a chance that my HS choices may be overlooked? Yes, I do recognize that I made bad choices in high school, but what's done is done. Any and all advice / comments would be appreciated!

Thanks,
    DtownTigs