300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Question for officers who work in the HR hiring process

I'll preface this by saying that in my area PD wages are pretty high compared to the average job in the area. As a result, hiring for PD jobs are very competitive. Agencies will get 1500 applicant to hire two or three recruits.

So, I have been 1 of those 1500 for several agencies. My background is that I have finished up a military career (meaning that I am in my low 40s). I have a pretty good military résumé. I have a bachelors from a state university with a 4.0 GPA. I can score a good PT test, in the top 10 or 20 percent. I pretty much ace the written tests, and my oral boards go well ( I've had a lot of experience at various boards). My civilian job requires a high level fed clearance and I know I can pass background.

However, whenever I apply for local agencies I end up getting an email saying " thanks for your interest, you are fully qualified, we will keep your name on the eligible list'"

From this experience I come to one of two conclusions: there are so many applicants that lots of well qualified applicants are getting pased over and I should just persevere...

OR...

In an area this competitive I will always be passed over due to my age no matter my resume and how well i test and I am wasting my time.

Anyway, I would appreciate any honest input on this topic. I don't mind persevering if I have a chance, but I hate to keep wasting my time, and agencies time, if I realistically have a chance of zero.

A lot of departments put together a hiring list for future openings or to put off hiring until their next budget year.

It probably has nothing to do with you. Or maybe it does.

Comment

being put on the list, is always better then the thanks but no thanks letter... keep going and dont give up.