Leader

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Applied for LEO in North Dakota. Need tips.

Collapse

300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Applied for LEO in North Dakota. Need tips.

Hello I have applied for a position in a police department in North Dakota. I hope to get an interview with the department which I hope I do. Can any of you good guys on here give me some tips on interview and the rest of the process. This town is growing a lot with all the oil and many different cultures and people coming in. I have a BS degree also.

More than likely the oral will score you on the following:

Experience – assesses your ability and experience in accepting responsibilities and performing assigned tasks as demonstrated through achievements in work, school, and other activities.

Problem Solving – assesses your reasoning skills in developing timely, logical responses to a wide variety of situations and problems.

Communication Skills – assesses your oral communications skills, which includes speaking, listening, and non-verbal communication.

Interest/Motivation – addresses your interest in and preparedness for the peace officer job. It includes an assessment of your general level of interest, initiative, and goal orientation.

Interpersonal Skills – assesses many facets, such as social knowledge/appropriateness, social insight, empathy, social influence, social self-regulation, sociability, team orientation, social self-confidence, conflict management skills, and negotiating skills.

Community Involvement/Awareness – focuses specifically on your experiences and interest in community issues, as well as your interest in and ability to fill multiple roles and serve a diverse community.

Your combined written and oral scores will be used to create a hiring list. Generally, highest score gets picked up first, next highest score gets hired next, etc.