Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

How can I improve my chances to get into a state police academy?

Collapse

300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How can I improve my chances to get into a state police academy?

First of all, I would like to introduce myself as I just recently joined this website and have a strong interest in a career in law enforcement. My father attended NJ State Police Academy in the 70s and I am interested in getting into an academy as well.

I am currently an undergraduate at a flagship state school. I am double majoring in Criminal Justice and Human Resources Management (as a backup plan). My GPA is high (3.4) and I fully expect it to get higher (probably around a 3.6-3.7). I was wondering what my chances are, due to the current economic climate, of getting into a state police academy that is taking recruits would be? I am really interested in entering law enforcement. As a summary of my activities, I am in a fraternity, where I have had many leadership roles and community service hours. I am also in Alpha Phi Omega, a national service organization with alumni like Bill Clinton and Michelle Obama that does extensive community service work. On top of all that, I am a volunteer with the EMS squad, CPR and first aid certified. I was wondering how difficult it is to get into police academy? I am willing to move to any state that would take me.

How can I improve my chances? Should I volunteer for the community service officers at my school? Should I participate in ROTC? Any advice would be appreciated.