300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• North Dakota Highway Patrol Question

I have a question about the qualifications and requirements for the ND highway patrol. ( here is the Q&R page of their website: http://www.nd.gov/ndhp/about-us/empl...d-requirements )

One of the requirements listed states:

"Associate degree with two years' work experience with the public or a Bachelor's degree"

If anyone from ND, or anyone more in-the-know than me, can clarify this statement I'd appreciate it. I'm just unclear what constitutes "work experience with the public".

It seems a little too easy that just ANY public job could be in lieu of those extra two years schooling.

If so, I hate to be repetitive, but how do they gauge this? I worked as a pharmacy technician for 10 years prior to going back to school and thats a very different retail climate than say...Burger King, Sears, or a Toyota dealership. I may be over-thinking this.

Your specific answer will have to come from the NDHP. My "sense" is if your pharmacy job involved any degree of public contact, consultations, sales, etc, then that would qualify as the experience with the public the department is seeking. What it looks like is they will honor the Associate's Degree WITH the public contact.. A Batchelor's Degree apparently doesn't include that requirement. I would suggest you contact a Recruiter/Personnel Officer at NDHP for a more specific reply.

Comment

Originally posted by RottieLVR View Post
      One of the requirements listed states:

"Associate degree with two years' work experience with the public or a Bachelor's degree"

It seems a little too easy that just ANY public job could be in lieu of those extra two years schooling.
      This is an ABSOLUTE minimum standard for that agency.

No one is hired as an LEO who just barely meets the minimum qualifications.