Leader

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Is a high school diploma vs. a GED weighed pretty heavily?

Collapse

300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Is a high school diploma vs. a GED weighed pretty heavily?

I obtained my H.S. diploma back in 2005, however, due to moving half way through my senior year, I switched to home schooling to finish up and was covered by a small, private Christian school (that I physically went to for 6th-8th grade but that's besides the point). When I graduated I was the first person to complete high school through their covering, so I was like their prototype, test hamster or whatever. I have my diploma and transcripts and never thought anything of the validity of me "graduating" being a question. Anyways, fast forward a little. Back before I moved to my current state on the West coast, about a year ago, I was trying to enroll in a community college in Tennessee where my folks live. I had to jump through hoops and have the principal of the private school write the comm. college a letter stating that I had legitimately graduated just for them to let me enroll. I think they did end up accepting me only because they were sick of seeing me in their office. Apparently, technically, I didn't graduate through an accredited school system recognized by the state. I was accepted at the Community college after a lot of effort, but didn't even get to registering for classes before moving here to my current state (I am in school now but they don't ask for H.S. transcripts/diploma in the state where I now reside).

So I'm wondering how this will play out with departments I'm applying at. I know this probably isn't a common issue that you guys have seen, but if it comes down to me having to get a GED because of this is that going to hurt me pretty significantly?