300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Depth Perception

I'm feeling a little lost, so I came to this forum hoping somebody might have some guidance or information for me. I'm a student who was hoping to go through the Chautauqua County Sheriff's Academy in New York. My application process was almost complete. Background check, physical fitness test, and oral board interviews, and everything was looking good. However, when I went for my health screening, I failed my depth perception tests. My depth perception is at 200 arc seconds, and it needs to be at 80 arc seconds. I visited an eye doctor, and it can't be corrected with corrective lenses or surgery. The Lieutenant for the academy said he could still accept me, but there is no future for me here because New York State requires every full time officer to pass that same depth perception test (however, I could work part time if I wanted.)
    My question is, does anybody know of any states where depth perception is not a requirement to be a full time officer? I know it sounds like a silly question, but I've wanted to be a police officer since I was a little girl. I've already overcome so much for this dream, and I really don't want to give it up. If anybody has any guidance for me, I would appreciate it so much. Feel free to e-mail me at [email protected] if you want to send a private message. Thank you.

Iowa does not have a depth perception component in their state standards
    http://www.legis.state.ia.us/ACO/IAChtml/501.htm

However as a practical matter a person who is challenged with such a deficit that you have would have a hard time performing the duties of a LEO.........................

I have some deficit in my depth perception and struggle in certain areas...................even after some surgery and corrective lenses.

Originally posted by rookiepete1990 View Post