300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Eviction and getting a job

I've been browsing these boards for a while now and you guys are a glut of good information.

I had a question about my applications. I got married five years ago when I was 18 and my wife and I have since had two kids. I didn't know I wanted to be a cop until about 3.5 years ago when I started working in loss prevention for a chain of retail stores in Minnesota. After almost two years of commuting an hour each way to my full-time job and going to school full-time, I graduated and became eligible to be licensed.

Meanwhile, however, I was extremely hands-off when it came to the everyday household responsibilities. My wife knew I was busy and stressed out and hid a lot of negative financial stuff from me that had occurred during this time. This was a huge mistake of mine and I really don't blame her in the slightest. However, my credit score currently sits about 610, and I now have an eviction on my record.

Yes, I was evicted behind my own back What happened was we failed to give 60 days notice to our apartment complex when we moved out. We had also had had some NSF checks, so were only allowed to pay with a money order. We moved out in 30 days and were charged the extra month's rent. My wife thought it would be okay to send a check since we no longer lived there. The apartment complex balked and filed eviction papers for non-payment of rent since they wouldn't take our check. My wife successfully hid all this from me since I was only really home enough to sleep and our old apartment only had her cell phone number on record. This happened June of 2009.