Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Police Background Check

Hi everyone.

I am a resident of Toronto, Ontario. I am interested in applying for the Toronto Police Service next year and I have a question about the Police Background check. (TPS is on a hiring freeze right now, so I have no choice but to wait. In the mean time, Im using this time to build my references and resume)

I know that the police background check looks through your criminal record, employment record, credit history, and school transcripts. But I was wondering about what else do they check? I understand that they give you a waiver to sign, but are you giving them an "All Access Pass" to your personal life? I dont mind if they check facebook or anything like that, because as far as that is concerned, its public information anyways. I am talking about cell phone calls, emails and other personal information.

My friends and I have all discussed it, but we all hear different things regarding what they look at. We dont have anything to hide, and are willing to disclose anything. But I just dont want anything I said or posted on my phone or on the internet to come back and haunt me. Any information is appreciated.

Originally posted by Menyseko View Post
    Hi everyone.

I am a resident of Toronto, Ontario. I am interested in applying for the Toronto Police Service next year and I have a question about the Police Background check. (TPS is on a hiring freeze right now, so I have no choice but to wait. In the mean time, Im using this time to build my references and resume)