300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Apply now or later?

I have been considering a career in law enforcement for several years now. But not until recently have I begun to take the plunge and pursue this dream. Just a few days after I made this decision I saw my county posted a position for a police officer. I have not had the time I would like to prepare myself physically and study all that I would like to know before going into an interview. However, if this process is months-long, I am comfortable with my ability to learn as I go. First I’ll list my qualifications:

B.S. in Psychology from private college. 3.67 GPA

1.5 years working for a company contracted by a state agency. Experience working with the public and people with special needs. Very familiar with case documentation and government standards for paperwork.

1 year living and working in a third-world country (high stress environment)

Fully fluent in Spanish (Often mistaken as native speaker even though I did not study Spanish until HS)

1 traffic violation in 2006 for reckless driving (inching over white line at red light). This was remedied through traffic school.

Pulled over last month for failure to display registration stickers. No citation issued because registration was completed, but stickers had not been placed.

No drug use ever

Very mild tobacco and alcohol use (Once every 3 months)

Good Credit with absolutely no debt

In summation, is it better to apply when there is a definite opening or wait until I am completely comfortable with my level of preparedness? I have not been on a ride-along yet. Is there time between submitting the application and an interview, to complete a ride-along? How much time should I spend studying procedure to be competent in an interview? Will most departments make room for the right candidate, or do they only hire when there is a clearly vacant position?

Thank you for any help you can offer.

Apply