300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• USMC to 1811? Is it enough?

My overall goal is to become an 1811. I got out of the Marines recently and I have been a full time college student ever since. I just finished my BS in criminal justice; I have no disability, perfect vision, no deviant behavior, and not even one speeding ticket. The hiring freeze has prompted me to enroll in a Master's program which I have been accepted for and start in a few days.

My question is, should I attempt to complete a master’s degree and hope for 1811 jobs to open? Alternatively, should I apply to, and take a city/ state police department job? Which is a more successful/expeditious route to my goal (1811)? While I know my USMC experience is technically enough work experience, how is it weighed against a current LEO, non-military guy, with the same degree? The competition for these jobs is what? 100 apps to 1 position? Should I finish out this first semester take whatever LE job I can get, finish that contract, and try my hand at 1811 or should I be good to go? I have also considered doing an Officers package with the USMC and applying for 1811 jobs towards the end of that contract. I am very confused…. What would you guys suggest?
    Last edited by Ross; 09-27-2011, 10:15 AM.

You could apply for local jobs while you're in your masters program. You'll be surprised at how long it takes to get hired for local jobs as well. Your service, education, more education, and LEO experience (if you take a local job) will make you a great candidate for 1811.