Leader

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

What can I do to stand out in the hiring phase?

Collapse

300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What can I do to stand out in the hiring phase?

A little background, I have a bachelor's from a 4 year well known local brick and mortar college, assisted a local police department's traffic division for 1.5 years voluntarily, and currently have around a year experience as a detention officer for a local sheriff's office. My only downfall is that I am 22, and usually get looked over for any LE jobs I apply for. I have put in roughly 20~ applications to many departments over the past year and it seems as if the biggest stumbling block in getting hired is the initial minimum qualifications. 75% of the applications I send in tend to be dead ends even before I get to the very first phase in hiring. I am wondering what else I need to do besides put in for all the training I can with my current job.

Thanks!

Work hard at being the best detention officer you can be, keep applying, maybe continue your education if you have the time (and money), and be patient....your time will come. BTW, I got hired at age 22, then again the economy was better then.

Comment

Originally posted by Nickrt10 View Post