Leader

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Can someone join a police force with Asperger's Syndrome?

Collapse

300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Can someone join a police force with Asperger's Syndrome?

Hi, I am a recent high school graduate who is attending college. I've always had an interest in law enforcement and in helping people. However, I was disagnosed with Asperger's Syndrome (It's high functioning Autism) as a young child. I was wondering if I would even be considered for a police job if I disclosed my disability. I heard a story about an officer near Pittsburgh who was suspended or fired for having a disability and not disclosing it when a job offer was made. I've never had a criminal record and I've never been hospitalized. I'm an Eagle scout also. I'm just wondering if it is possible to join a police force. I know requirements vary by state sometimes. I did come across this on the department of Justice's website. I don't know if it means anything. Is Asperger's a disqualfying condition? The ADA says as long as I can perform the job in question with resonable accomidations in order to meet the requirements that they can't refuse to hire me based on a disability. I know I could pass a psychological exam and a physical test. But what I am still wondering are some police departments more progressive than others? Are there any active officers out there with any kind of disability. I met one officer with Asperger's. I was just wondering if there are any more active disabled officers out there who can give good advice on the do's and don'ts of the hiring process.

http://www.ada.gov/copsq7a.htm
    Last edited by mrld1630; 08-16-2010, 04:23 PM.