Leader

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Would my mistake at the age of 16 cost me a career I've wanted since I was a kid?

Collapse

300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Would my mistake at the age of 16 cost me a career I've wanted since I was a kid?

First I'd like to say that I've never committed a crime. I don't do drugs. I follow rules. I am a good student. I'm in college at the moment and I've never gotten in trouble.

Here's my problem. The ONE stupid mistake I made at 16.

I screwed up. I was having a big fight with my mother over something and I was overwhelmed with a lot of things. My orientation, school, and a relationship. (My orientation had a HUGE part in the way I felt. It was overwhelming and I just didn't know how to handle being gay unfortunately.) My mother wasn't taking me seriously, and I was stupid enough to cut my upper arm with a knife. It isn't even a quarter of an inch long. And it's a VERY superficial scar. Anyway, I was Baker Acted, but they released me in less than 24 hours from a medical place. Because I WASN'T a harm to myself or anyone else for that matter. I was being a very naive teenager. I didn't want to kill myself, it wasn't near my veins or anything. And I signed a HIPPA form. They said they can't release this information to anyone. Could a police department I apply to see this though?

I'm in college now, and I don't suffer from depression, I wasn't given any medication or anything either from those people. I went to a psychiatrist for like 2 months and that was it. They found I was fine.

Would this stupid mistake cost me a career I've wanted ever since I was a kid?

Yes, the police can see it. When you apply for a law enforcement job you will sign a number of releases allowing your background investigator access to your school, employment and medical records, just to name a few.