Leader

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Bachelors in Criminal Justice Not Enough?

Collapse

300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Bachelors in Criminal Justice Not Enough?

I graduated from the University of Cincinnati in June 2009 with Bachelors in Criminal Justice and a minor in Psychology. My question, rather my disappointment is that, why does a Bachelors pull no weight in the hiring process? It is so frustrating when departments will require some type of experience in order to be considered in moving along further in the process of becoming a police officer, especially because I playe football and ran track at Cincinnati, there was no time for a job. I have applied with countless departments in multiple states and the feeling is the same with every department big or small, if they are putting 60recruits or 5recruits through an academy it seems experience is a must. So my question is how do I get that necessary experience? After 4 years of college, what else could I have done? Take a security job that pays 8 dollars an hour even though I have Bachelors in CJ? Take a loss prevention job that pays minimum wage? Any advice or thoughts would be greatly appreciated, I respect the work you fine men and women do, and want nothing more than to serve by your side one day. Thanks for your time and thoughts.
    Last edited by UCBearcat24; 01-11-2010, 10:49 AM. Reason: editing

Well, if you were in Kansas you would be in luck several departments look for college grad's with no time on the force. Thats what caused me a problem, just give it time and if you find a job outside of law enforcement that you like better and pays more than take it!!! This ain't the same job it was back 10, 20 even 30 years ago.
    I trust my life with J. M. Browning's design, the 1911.

Comment