300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Guranteed Unique Question:

background: my mother was murdered by my step dad when i was 12. i don't want to go into the details on a public forum, but trust me when i say that the circumstances were very violent and horrific. i was subsequently forced to live with my estranged father. i say "estranged" because he was a vietnam vet (11b - LT INF) that literally witnessed, among other things, his best bud from age 3 get his face blown off while taking a couple 7.62 rounds to the leg. he checked out long before i moved in, and i was considered a distant 3rd to jack daniels and miller lite; i guess i qualified as a neglected child and i literally raised myself. i got in trouble once when i was 19 (trespassing - class b mis), but other than that i have a college degree, stable work history, clean background and average credit. i am now in my mid-thirties.

question: will having something as traumatic as that in my childhood be a negative or red flag in the eyes of an interview board? or will my age counteract any negative assumptions that would normally be attributed to a younger, less life-experienced person? soon after the incident i started to visit my school counselor and longtime pastor for guidance/advice; and as much as i missed her, i never really felt like i couldn't cope with life or like i was going to fall apart. but it was a lonely road.

there aren't many people out there who have experienced such a violent event (i've checked), and imho i feel like it has given me a unusual perspective on the value of life; i can also be an emotional rock in a crisis situation due to the exposure i've had to the "dark side" of life. BUT... would a potential employer see it that way as well? or will i be labeled as "damaged goods"?

sorry for the long post, but it's a complicated situation to explain. i would appreciate any and all advice i could get from the law enforcement community. thanks - Texas09S