Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• non-US Citizen?

Hello everybody,

It has been a while since I've posted, but I re-evaluated my life and am still very interested in Law Enforcement.

My main question however is that I am only a Permanent Resident, and am not sure if you have to be a US Citizen in order to become a LEO.

My other main concern is my chances, I only have a GED with 17 college credits in Computer Technology, I owned my own company and am currently employed by a Boat Manufacturer in Shipping and Receiving.

My criminal history is basically null, and I don't have any druse use beside trying marijuana once when I was 16 (I am 23 now).

Thank you in advance for any responses.

With the exception of the California Highway Patrol, you are good to go with any California police agency, provided that you are a permanent resident alien who is eligible for and has applied for United States citizenship.
    Going too far is half the pleasure of not getting anywhere

Comment

Well, I am not eligible *yet* to become a US Citizen. I will be however 3 years from the date I got married (which would be November 2011).

Comment

Alabama agencies require an applicant to be a U.S, Citizen.

Comment

Originally posted by n4rb View Post
          Hello everybody,

It has been a while since I've posted, but I re-evaluated my life and am still very interested in Law Enforcement.

My main question however is that I am only a Permanent Resident, and am not sure if you have to be a US Citizen in order to become a LEO.

My other main concern is my chances, I only have a GED with 17 college credits in Computer Technology, I owned my own company and am currently employed by a Boat Manufacturer in Shipping and Receiving.

My criminal history is basically null, and I don't have any druse use beside trying marijuana once when I was 16 (I am 23 now).

Thank you in advance for any responses.