300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Did not pass FTO...Need advice

I did not pass my FTO program a few months ago. I have been soul searching and have come to realize that this is still the career for me. When filling out applications now, what should I put down for the "Reason For Leaving Job" field? Thanks in advance.

I think professional reasons would be acceptable. All I can tell you is to hang on. As a Field Training Officer, I can tell you that officers who were asked to resign from my department, were able to go to smaller departments, pass their F.T.O. program and become good cops. Or, you may want to see if there is any civilian position within the p.d. that you can put in for, get some experience there, then re-apply as an officer. We had a guy do that. He couldn't pass in his first try, so hee took a jailer position and got experience, he has been in training and about to complete the Field Training Program. Keep it in your heart, and you'll do it.. Good luck

Comment

Agreed with the above. We've had a few off the top of my head that I can think of who either did not pass the Academy or the Field Training Program on their first opportunity. They stuck with it, put in the effort, and started from scratch by going through the application process again and graduating.

Not easy but like the above poster said,
      "keep it in your heart and you'll do it.. Good luck"
      The views, comments, and opinions posted above represent soley the views, comments, and opinions of myself alone, and to my knowledge do not represent the views, comments, and opinions of anyone else or my employer.

Comment

Originally posted by Visioman View Post
        I did not pass my FTO program a few months ago. I have been soul searching and have come to realize that this is still the career for me. When filling out applications now, what should I put down for the "Reason For Leaving Job" field? Thanks in advance.