300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Recently layed off.

So today was the day, I work at a small IT company and we weren't doing well, I was layed off today and told I could get unemployment. I have never been layed off from anywhere and they said they had to do cutbacks, and were restructuring the entire organization. So I am jobless now...

However, I get home today and check the mail... my Sherrif/Police test results for one of the civil service tests i took CAME FINALLY. I took the exam on the 15th of November. I passed with a 80% and was #116 on the list. I am going to fill it out and hand it back in, I applied for all the local cities and towns.

My question is this... what would the best thing for me to do to move towards my career in law enforcement. I do not want to do IT anymore, I was a Sales Engineer and the last two years all I could think about was becoming a cop. I was thinking about trying to get a dispatch job somewhere? Something in the field would help me correct? Would agencies look down on someone who was layed off? The CEO of the company told me he would write letters of reccomendations, etc, and that it was not due to my job peformance.

Thanks Guys/Gals
    Trying to get on in NY...
    PM me if you hear of any upstate NY departments that are giving a civil service test.

You were very vague in your question. What kind of an education do you have? How old are you? Have you gone to the academy? Can you put yourself through while on unemployment? Does your state offer retraining and put you through school?

Comment

Being laid off is not grounds for DQ and there is no dishonor in such status. Companies downsize for a variety of reasons, be it the economy, seasonal staffing changes, competition, product shifts, etc., and some employees just lose their jobs. It's that simple. If that's the case with you, it shouldn't be a problem.