300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Maine Correctional Officer

Hey all, new to the forums. Glad I can come here and read about LEO's.

A little about me: I am 19 years old, formerly born in a bad place in New jersey. I moved to Maine last year to attend College. My Major is Criminal Justice.

I have worked at a bar as a bouncer for about 6 months now. I love the job, being in a security role. I recently applied to a Jail to be a full-time Correctional Officer. This is the single most step I have ever taken to advancing my career. I know I can do the job well, without a doubt.

The process has already been almost completed. I have taken my written, strength, and running tests (passing each with flying colors) and have gone through my Oral Boards. I used all the experience I have gotten from the Bar I work at to complete my boards, and my interest in the Criminal Justice career to pass my Boards as well.

I filled out the entire Background check and Integrity Questionnaire. I was as honest as humanly possible while I was filling out both packets. If it was something that fit the guidelines, I answered it (For instance; Have I ever started a fire intentionally? A: Yes, I started a fire in my firepit in my backyard) and I explaining extenuating circumstances (For instance; Have I ever accessed child po**ography? A: No, I have never intentionally accessed it, however, it has popped up on occasion. I never intentionally and purposefully seek out the material.) Basically questions like that.

After returning my two packets (last Thursday) I was fingerprinted and they started the background check process. The officer I am in contact with, a Sgt. within the HR department, said he would contact me in the next week to schedule my Polygraph.