300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Issue with background....any advice?

I am an applicant who has applied with several agencies within my state. I have been DQ'd twice after the integrity interviews. I worked as a bartender during my senior year in college. There was a lot of pressure from the senior bartenders to not ring up drinks in the cash register, which would increase our tips at the end of the night. Although we worked in pairs, we split the tips at the end of the night. Even on nights were I did ring up all drinks, I still took stolen money since we split the tips. My estimated contribution to stolen money is around $200. Needless to say, I quit after I graduated. That was over two years ago, and both agencies that I applied for have a 5 year time requirment for an undetected crime of this nature. Both of the interviewers told me that I would make a great officer and would have hired me in a heartbeat if it were not for this blemish in my past and that I should keep applying to other agencies, and retest with their agency in a year. I was wondering why I should re-apply with them the following year if the minimum is five years and its only been three years since the theft occured? Also, do I still have a chance with other agencies who might have lower standards when it comes to an undetected crime of this nature? Or do they all have the same standards? Any advice or input would be much appreciated.

wow, my agency, that wouldnt be a problem at all. i admitted to much worse and got hired. we all make mistakes, thats a given. I get free drinks at places all the time. So am i accepting stolen merchandice.....no

Comment