300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• My scenario

Ok, well first off I am new here and have been looking for a place like this for a long time so its great to finally be on a board where I can recieve legitimate advice.

So, here is my scenario. I have always wanted to be in Law enforcement and still have great inclinations of one day achieving this. Law enforcement is in my family. Currently I am in my 3rd year of a criminal justice major at Boise State University and this summer I was (this story is not in anyway manipulated) sitting in a park on the dock and I had been drinkin a bit and somehow the local police got news of us there and came and arrested me for DUI driving even though my car was parked almost a half a mile away (note I did the drinking after I had parked my car and came to the dock, I guess a witness claimed she saw me driving). I am in the proccess of getting it dropped with the help of my attorney but the question is this- am I ultimately screwed forever in attaining a job with a police department? Even if it does get dropped will the BI still look at it as a DUI? I know my local police departments require to not have been chraged withiin the 3 previous years of applying. If this gets dropped and I were to apply would they consider this as a DUI and reject me? Any help on this issue would be greatly appreciated and other than this I am one clean dude. No druge use (maybe a puff of some marijauna a few years back) or charges, awesome credit, great physcial shape, excellent work history, good grades, etc...

Thanks alot guys and I really look forward to spending some time on these forums with you all who seem to really know your stuff..Thanks!!

Cheers