300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Schoo me on the importance of polygraphs

I'm new to the law enforcement application process and have discovered that polygraphs seem to be the norm, at least in California. I guess I'm surprised because in law school I've taken evidence classes, one taught by a former federal prosecutor and another taught by a defense attorney, and they both claim that the actual results are pretty pointless. Both seemed to allude that it's basically an interrogation tool. As someone who currently does a lot of negotiation on the corporate level, I can totally see how the setting and such can could be leveraged quite a bit against a subject.

On a personal level, I know that during the year plus long process of getting hired at the CIA, my sister was told she failed her polygraph multiple times, literally coming home in tears, with the questions that she supposedly showed stress on utterly absurd. For perspective, she's a PhD in Chemical Engineering, and for a woman to get to that level she basically was nothing other than a workaholic nerd who certainly wasn't selling state secrets to foreign agents as her poly examiner claimed. But again, seeing the distress it caused her, I can see how it's an effective tool to interrogate someone. That said, when you see a family member broken down by it, not an appealing one. Thankfully, after the 3rd or 4th they stopped bothering her, she was hired, and later made it all the way to the Whitehouse for security briefings.

So, that's really my only working knowledge of the polygraph and it's not favorable in the sense that I believe in the measured results. Was the information I learned in evidence class wrong and was my sister's personal experience an outlier, beyond the statistical norm of accuracy?