300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Forced to Resign from Law Enforcement

This is not your typical background question as I was an officer who was just pressured into resigning due to a threat of discharge from employment.

I have talked to some other officers, such as my friend/roomate, father and a use of force expert (who was an instructor from the police academy) all who have told me that the use of force was justified given the circumstances.

I have heard that getting hired again is an up hill battle but is possible. Does anyone have advice on California agencies that I should take a look at, taking into consideration my recent past?

If anyone has ideas of some departments let me know. Btw, I know this might be too idealistic, given the circumstances, but I do not wish to work for an agency like Maywood PD.

This experience of being pressured into resigning was a bit traumatic for me.
    Last edited by TNelson; 08-01-2009, 08:33 AM. Reason: spelling

Yes its possible for you to get hired by another agency. However any agency you try for will go back to the agency that you resigned at. I would recommend that you ask the "powers to be" at your previous department if they would give you a positive recommendation at your next agency you will try to get hired at. I did not pass FTO at my previous agency and it was the worst feeling in the world. But if that agency did not give me a positive recomendation, I know I would never get hired at a law enforcement agency. This wont be easy but its possible. I know many persons who was forced to resign and never got hired. Good luck and PM me if you want.

Comment

Originally posted by juicesnn4e2
      if you didnt do it, and your instructor says you were justified, why wouldnt you just keep working and not resign?
      I didn't have the opportunity to ask other people about the situation until after resigning. I was called into the office and I left the office without a job.

Comment