300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Current Employment and applications..

So I currently work as a Network Engineer and cant wait to get out of this field of work. I have been studying for my police test (for about a month now) which is scheduled county wide in December.

I assume after I take the test and hopefully do well, that I will have a choice of a couple agencies which I want to apply. Hoping all goes positive, I will have oral boards, interviews, etc.

My question I guess is how do you do all these things and still maintain a full time 9-5 job? I dont know how much time off I can take and sometimes I understand the interviews are at a moments notice. I was debating on telling my job in December that I was interested in becoming an officer, and I would finish out my time here but I dont want them to fire me, and give me a possible bad reference to the police if they contact them. I have been at my current employer about a year and a half.

Was anyone else faced with this decision? I still have a mortgage to pay.

Thanks guys.. and stay safe.
    Trying to get on in NY...
    PM me if you hear of any upstate NY departments that are giving a civil service test.

Originally posted by SupraRy View Post
    My question I guess is how do you do all these things and still maintain a full time 9-5 job? I dont know how much time off I can take and sometimes I understand the interviews are at a moments notice. I was debating on telling my job in December that I was interested in becoming an officer, and I would finish out my time here but I dont want them to fire me, and give me a possible bad reference to the police if they contact them. I have been at my current employer about a year and a half.

Was anyone else faced with this decision? I still have a mortgage to pay.

Thanks guys.. and stay safe.