300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Question for those with degrees

I start school for my AA in Criminal Justice in September. I just wondered if having a degree actually helped you in getting a job in LE, and if the material they teach you has benefitted you once on the job?

Success is getting what you want.... Happiness is wanting what you get

I can't say it helped me get hired. I got my degree after getting the job. Many agencies now require at least an AA to get hired. It does help with promotions. Most of what was on my first promotional exam was taken straight out of the text books.
    The early bird may get the worm, but the second mouse gets the cheese.

Comment

I have probably applied maybe 5% (being generous) of my BS in Criminal Justice, and 95% of that 5% was taught again in the academy. Everything you need to know (technical and practical skills necessary to be a police officer) will be taught in the academy or on the street. If I were you I would major in something else and minor in CJ. What getting a college degree really does is enhance your critical thinking, communication and writing abilities. All of which are of critical importance in law enforcement. ANY degree can help you get hired. Even if it is not required, if two otherwise identical applicants are competing for a spot who do you think gets the job? The one with the degree or the one without?

Comment

I had my AAS degree before I was hired, then obtained my BS after I was on the job. I think my AAS was on par with my time in the military, so I could have deleted one or the other off my resume and been just as competitive. I haven't used the information I learned form my BS in any manner. I do recall thinking that the information was a bunch of hogwash while learning it. I must say, though, that my degrees have given me jobs and opportunities that were a bit more interesting than if I hadn't spent the time in the classroom.