300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Pulled over with CCW. What to do?

My question is what do I do if I get pulled over while carrying? I am a responsible driver no contest but even I occasionaly forget to hit the turn lever. My guess is hands at 10 and 2, vehicle off, belt on, and notify the officer immediately: "I am armed, what do you want me to do officer?" I have only had my permit for a year and have yet to find anyone else that I know that carries whom has been pulled over to get advice from. We are a pretty responsible group it seems.
    Support bacteria. They're the only culture some people have.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6J54t-ckZkQ
    ~nothing follows~

Comment

You'll get a lot of different responses to that question, for a variety of reasons. My personal preference would be for you to do as you've described, only adding that you have your CCW permit and driver's license in hand upon my approach. Some states apparently mandate notification and others don't. Obviously you want to obey your state's laws, but even if it wasn't mandated (as the investigating officer) I'd prefer to know.
      "I'm not fluent in the language of violence, but I know enough to get around in places where it's spoken."

Comment

I like you to do what you do and tell me what pulicords wants, then tell me where the gun is and not do anything until I tell you.
        Why do people think they have the right not to listen when they are told to roll a window down or unlock a door?

Comment

All good ideas, imagine you are the officer, you want to know who you are dealing with, what they have, and where it is at. Pretty simple, this approach along with a calm demeanor should go a long way at putting the officer at ease, and diminshing the posibility of an unwanted suprise that becomes an issue.

Comment

Originally posted by pulicords View Post
            Some states apparently mandate notification and others don't.