300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• My Dilemma

i have a dilemma and I need some advise. I have been working at my current LEO job for about 3 1/2 months. I am just about to finish training. My issue is this: the salary is not very good and I have realized that I cannot support my family on it. I got invited to go through the process with another agency with better pay and benefits. Is it shady for me to pursue it when I have only been here for a little while, and if I do pursue it do i tell the other agency not to contact my current employer so I don't risk losing my job. I don't know what to do.
    Any suggestions???
    “Fear not the night.

Fear that which walks the night.

And I am that which walks the night.

But only evil need fear me…

and gentle souls sleep safe in their beds…

because I walk the night.”

An LE career is a progressive one for many people. You have to be in a place where you can enjoy your work and make a comfortable life for yourself. There is nothing wrong with looking in other places. You can ask them to not contact your current employer, different agencies have different policies. I have found it better not to let your current agency know you are looking elswhere only because sometimes they take it as an insult even if it isn't meant to be. I am on agency # 3 in my fed career. You have to play it by ear and always remain in a defensive position...never tell anyone more than they need to know and never burn bridges when you leave...you never know if you might need to go back.

Comment