Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Reason to arrest someone

Hi all,
    I am an author from Germany and not familiar with US law. Please allow me a question: In my novel a local police chief (in Virginia) gets upset because a newspaper reporter investigates in "his" serial killer case,which the police chief doesn't like at all ("That's not your business but mine"). He wants to teach him a lesson and arrest him for a while (a day or so, maybe only some hours) in order to intimidate the reporter. Now I am looking for a "reasonable" reason how or why the police guy could do that "officialy". (Of course, he can't disclose his private motivation and needs an "official" reason.) What kind of delict could he invent to arrest the reporter?
    Supposed, a reporter would really go on your nerves and someone would ask YOU to teach him a lesson (of course, you personally would NEVER take revenge ;-)) - what could you do quite easily in such a case?
    Please, remember: it's only a novel - I do not want to say that a police officer in general would act like that! In the end, "my" police guy is a good one!

Thanks
    Thomas

Originally posted by pibuch View Post
    He wants to teach him a lesson and arrest him for a while (a day or so, maybe only some hours) in order to intimidate the reporter.
    You need to change your premise somehow if this story is to be set in the US. A police officer cannot "arrest someone for a while" here. An arrest serves one purpose in the United States: to present the individual before a court because they are believed to have committed a crime.