Order of Protection and BI?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Order of Protection and BI?

I've been lurking through the message boards for almost a week now, and I've learned a lot of great information. Thanks for it. I've applied with the Memphis Police, I take my test this coming week. I've toyed with the idea for several years, and I've been a criminal justice major. I'm very passionate about LE and I know that I would be good at it.

My background is pretty normal I guess...no charges, a couple of speeding tickets (none recent), I smoked pot a couple times in high school. I was a pretty wild teenager, but calmed down in my late teens. But there is one thing...

A little over 2 years ago, my boyfriend of over a year, and I broke up. He came to my house and things became very emotional for both of us. I was especially emotional as I had knee surgery earlier that day, and was under the influence of a lot of drugs. I asked him 3 or 4 times to leave...this lasted about 20 or 30 minutes. At the end of all this he said something horrible to me, and I threw down my glass of water and told him to get out. He turned and came at me. I defended myself.I pushed him away from me and kept trying to push him out the door. I told him I was going to call the police and then he left.

I didn't call the police that night, but after talking to a friend in LE I decided to file a report the next morning, but was told he had already filed one and that I couldn't file or it would be considered a retaliation. I cut my losses and started to move on. About 10 days later I was served by deputies with an order of protection.