Collapse

300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Shot myself in the foot(not literally)

I would like some advice on a possible way to get hired after i basically screwed myself at the worst possible time in my life. I am ACT 120 certified in PA, certified to be a police officer. About a month before i graduated and a month before i turned 21 i was pulled over for failure to obey traffic control a device(i honestly had no idea the "no left turn" sign was there) and I had some unopened alcohol in my car. I received a citation for both offenses. I was so stressed out about getting the underage citation taken down to a disorderly conduct that I forgot about the moving violation. I did not update my address at the DMV and by the time I got around to it they told me my license was suspended. I immediately went through the proper channels and had my license reinstated. I graduated with top honors in my class and received a scholarship from the academy to further my education. On top of that the day of graduation I received a call from a local chief offering me a job because a couple instructors referred me for the job when asked who he should call. I did not get the job i was referred for and was also turned down for 2 other jobs i was at the top of a civil service list for because I was still going to court. It has been a year and I am currently working an armed security job and I constantly am asked by friends I graduated the academy with why I don't have a job yet, I am the last one not to get hired. I'm too embarrassed to tell them why. I have tried to make myself a more attractive candidate by being certified in numerous things OCAT, MOAB, PATH, and i have gotten my EMT cert. This has been the most stressful year of my life and I realize that everything that has happened is my fault and I am the only person to blame. My question is how much will this effect me going forward and how long do you think it will take me to obtain a position i