Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• US Customs and Border Patrol

Greetings All,

I am considering a career as a LEO (state or federal I'm still dithering) when my hitch with the US Navy expires four years from now. I'm curious about what job opportunities are available to me in Customs and Border Patrol.

I have a four year degree and when I leave the service I will have had six years of military service. A friend of mine who was a Master at Arms (according to him he had guys who were veteran MAs fail to make it) told me Border Patrol is very difficult to get into, the written test in particular was tough for him.

Regards,

LoneRider

there are plenty of Jobs other then Border Patrol.
    1. ICE special Agent
    2. Deportation Agent
    3. Immigration Enforcement Agent.

check the website for info.
    IGNORE LIST - Banastretarlton AKA "banana boy"

"In the fields of observation chance favors only prepared mind"
    -----Louis Pasteur

"Sweat in training saves blood on the battlefield."

-------Col. David "Hack" Hackworth

On my 7 year old 2nd Grade Class wall

------------YOU are RESPONSIBLE for YOUR OWN ACTIONS

Comment

The US Government hires most of the armed forces personnel. You have a great or better chance of getting hired than a civilian. 6 months prior to you getting out, start appling for some of those jobs at www.usajobs.opm.gov Hit the "series" tab and type in 1801 or 1802 or 1811 investigator series, or 0083 Police Officer series
      live everyday as if it your last...because one day it will be

Comment

Customs and Border protection isn't hard as far as I was concerned. I passed the written test, went thru the acadamy with no problem. It isn't even all that grueling physically.

Immigration is a longer course, probably no more difficult for tests and class work, but it is best if you have an apptitude for aforeign language as you will need to learn spanish.

Border patrol is a lot harder physically.