Collapse

300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Has ANY LEO's experienced this before?

Just out of curiosity, has any LEO's ever worked as something such as a Juvenile probation officer, or something that dealth with troubled teens (foster home's, etc.) I was thinking about taking a job working as a youth counselor for foster children until I am able to get onto a PD. I was just curious what I could expect? Everyone keeps telling me that it will be harder then it sounds, which I believe, but if any LEO's have any heads up on what to expect that would be great!

Thanks!

I worked as a group leader and unit coordinator at a residential treatment center for 2.5 years during college. PM me if you have some specific questions you want answered.
    Sometimes, doing the right thing means p***ing off the bosses.

"And shepherds we shall be, for thee my lord for thee."

Originally posted by dontknowwhy
    I still think troopers and deputies who work in the middle of no where with essentially no back up are the 'men among men' of the LEO world.
    Originally posted by weinerdog2000
    as far as your social experiment, if we cant film you then you cant film us, we will arrest you for obstruction of our freedom.

Comment

My brother worked as a juvenile hall counselor (i.e.- care taker) before coming onto an adjacent county's sheriff's office. He had great stories! Especially about all the partying the young adult counselors did afterhours at his apartment. I'm still jealous, lol!

EDJ
      "It's a game of cat and mouse. It's a game of hide and seek. Albeit games with deadly consequences. Like most games-the better you know the rules, the more likely you are to win."

Comment

I worked as as a dorm counselor at a residential home for juveniles during college. We had kids from bad homes and those who were in trouble with the law. I really enjoyed working with the kids.
        J. Wise

AR-15 - AK-47 - NFA Trusts - My Pick - Carry Guns - 1911s