300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Any advice for a new EMT?

Hey everyone. Haven't been back to this forum in awhile, but I am happy to say I am now an EMT-I! My company does both BLS and is the 911 provider for the region. My first two shifts(number 1 was today) are BLS, and just being shown by my FTO how to operate the ambulance, filling out the PCR tablet, memorizing supplies, etc. Fire, EMS, and law enforcement are all cogs in the same machine, scratching each others back and working together but also not getting in each other's way. We are taught to cut AROUND bullet/knife holes, don't smudge finger prints, basically don't contaminate a crime scene within reason. And for violent scenes, police would have to clear us before entering, and then we might be needed after a shootout and such.

All that being said, any tips from you guys on how to best co-operate/help law enforcement when all calls? Does anyone else have EMS experience? Given my long term goal of becoming a game warden(wildlife officer here in California) I was thinking of joining my company's rescue team down the line, which does swift water rescue,medical support for SWAT, rope rescue, wilderness S/R, and similar operations. There's a national park and mountains relatively closeby, and this would definitely be in line with game warden work since I know they have similar duties.

Anyway, to the LEOs here, how can I best co-operate/help law enforcement when on calls? Are there any other mistakes EMS members make in you experience? Does anyone else have any EMS experience?
    Last edited by Zen-Paladin; 07-04-2021, 07:30 PM.

When it’s a medical call, you’re in charge. Tell us what you need.

When it’s a LE call, we’re in charge. Do what we tell you.

When it’s a fire call, they are in charge. Sit back and eat popcorn.
    "I am a Soldier. I fight where I'm told and I win where I fight." -- GEN George S. Patton, Jr.