Leader

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Federal law enforcement.. is it worth it?

Collapse

300x250 Mobile

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Federal law enforcement.. is it worth it?

Hello Everyone,
    I wanted to get some perspective on Federal Law enforcement, and really the FBI more than likely since that's the only "entry level" 1811 job that accepts without prior experience. Most of my background falls in the realm IT networking and cyber security. I have a degree in Game development, and spent 4 years in the Navy as an enlisted Information Systems Technician with a Radio sub speciality. I'm currently working in the private sector for one of the major Aerospace and Defense companies with a fairly comfortable lucrative Network / Security
    Engineering support position.

It's a pretty good job, but I find it painfully boring. Upon my departure from the military I was juggling between IT and law enforcement but missed out on interviews because of Ship underway periods and the Law Enforment Agency being unflexible.

I'm still definitely interested in law enforcement, but I was really interested in the Federal side because it seemed like it has a "white collar" side where my technical background could be used.

The biggest thing really giving me pause is from an ethical standpoint. The gateway agency to this work would be the FBI. The FBI, along with a few
    other agencies has a terrible reputation and some questionable history. I consider myself as someone with very Libertarian leaning values, and I take the oath to the Constitution very seriously. I would absolutely
    love to serve and protect my country and lock up real criminals doing real crimes, but bureaucracy and politicalization gives me pause.