Collapse

300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• off duty carry for probation officer...

question for my fellow peace officers. Here in cali, I'm a PO. i dont carry in the field. I have a low risk caseload, so it's not warranted...well that's what they say. Anyway, if I wanted to carry off duty, what would I need to do? Unlike other agencies, my dept. just says "we don't want you to carry off duty. What you do off duty is your problem, if you shoot somebody we won't back you up," thus there is no qualification/requal policies. I'm a sworn peace officer. What would you suggest? Personally, i'm thinking about qualifying on my own per CCW standards (which are more stringent than CDCR standards from what I know) and carry my piece.

Please advise.

Handgun

Since nobody has answered yet, I will get this started. I would encourage you to go to a store that serves law enforcement agencies and try several pistols on the range. I might say get a Glock, but then someone else will say that a S&W is the only way to go. There is not just one handgun for everyone. I suspect that you don't want anything huge. As the old saying goes, for it to do you any good you have to carry it with you. If it is to cumbersome you won't have it with you when you need it. My first police service weapon was a Smith and Wesson Model 66 .357 magnum revolver. When my agencies switched to pistols, I went with a Smith and Wesson 5906. Now I have a Glock Model 22. Do your research before you buy.

Comment

Absolutely try out several weapons before purchasing one. The first one I bought was a Glock 22 and followed it up with the Glock 23. For duty we are issued the S&W M&P .40, also a great gun. As far as carrying off duty I say go through the proper channels and carry.
      "Fast is fine, but accuracy is everything!"-Wyatt Earp

"You never know when crazy will show up!"-Irishdep

Comment