300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Writer Scenario - Small town police vs. metropolitan police

Hello! Forgive any errors - my first post. I'll try to keep it short and sweet.

I'm a writer and during a editorial review by my writer group, one of which is a former officer and PO, I was taken to task about a scene that I wrote. They suggested I get up to date info about it via this site.

Scenario:
    Small town (think less than 10k total Pop.)
    Church town, more people attend church regularly than not
    Teen girl goes missing after a group date
    Parents call around. One of the guys on the call list is a officer
    He calls in and asks a favor of the Chief (?) to get movement on it now, rather than later
    Chief approves 4 officers for search
    Officer in charge allows neighbors and the parents to search the acreage behind the house after they confirm that she was seen unlocking her door by the kids dropping her off
    Mother finds the teen while somewhat separated from the rest of the group
    Officer in charge gets there after the Mother has gathered the body into her arms and is rocking it back and forth

What is the proper protocol here? I have the Officer acknowledging the loss of evidence but allowing the father to join the mother before the EMT's get to the body to confirm death. Then the EMT's take the body away. My justification is that it's a smaller town so they wouldn't be as hard-core on the rules - especially since the Mother already screwed up the scene before they got to it.

I would appreciate any help.

For starters, your question goes here:

https://forum.officer.com/forum/writers-block

Comment

I don't even know where to start with that hot mess.

Officers don't ask Chiefs for stuff to happen when there's a missing child, as some kind of "favor".

EMTs don't transport human remains.