300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Question

I am a NYS certified Peace Officer in NY. I am also Qualified in Firearms and OC spray. In NYS a Peace Officer has the same powers of a Police officer with the exception of making a arrest through a warrant. I was wondering if there is a dept out there anywhere in the country that looks at that in a positive way and help my chances of becoming a full time Police Officer.

Thanks
    Tom

I don't see how that power could have any effect on you becoming a police officer. Just continue to do a good job and let your work record speak for itself. If you haven't been to college, start picking up a few classes.

Comment

Question

Originally posted by Tfsgroi View Post
      I am a NYS certified Peace Officer in NY. I am also Qualified in Firearms and OC spray. In NYS a Peace Officer has the same powers of a Police officer with the exception of making a arrest through a warrant. I was wondering if there is a dept out there anywhere in the country that looks at that in a positive way and help my chances of becoming a full time Police Officer.

Thanks
      Tom
      Tom. I can only answer your question from an Alabama perspective. The terms, Peace Officer, and Police Officer, are essentially interchangeable in this state. They apply equally to any Peace Officer/Police Officer, regardless of whether that Officer is a Trooper, Game Warden, Deputy Sheriff, Municipal Police Officer, or University Police Officer. This is only a guess, but the inability to execute a warrant as a "Peace Officer" must be an quirk in New York law.I'd suggest you do a little personal research with your state's POST.

Comment