300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Part Time Police Academy

I am on the fence whether I should do the part time police academy or not. I was never successful trying to get a department to sponsor me through the academy. I failed many of their exams (including 4 polys and 3 psychs) have tried for 5 years and was never successful. Please correct me if I'm wrong, If I self-sponsor myself do I have an advantage of getting hired? maybe they are more lenient with me when it comes to the poly and psych?

On another note, I am a full time school teacher, my city is currently offering the part time police academy mon - fri 6pm - 10pm, that means that if I decide to do the part time police academy I would have to finish teaching at 3:00pm to then get ready to be at the academy at 5:00pm from Mon - Fri, can I accomplish this? I heard the police academy is a lot of work and study time but I wonder If I sacrifice myself for about 8 months, would I make it?

This job is not a hobby, meaning that you have to commit 100 to mastering this craft so you're the best possible product when you start the job. If you doubt your ability to be focused and committed, stop now.

Additionally, I can't think of an agency that won't do their own background/psych prior to hiring you, whether you're certified or not. If you can't pass the BASIC hiring standards now, getting certified won't change that. To be honest, based on what you are failing there are issues with you (at face value) that appear to make you unemployable in policing.

Comment

If you can't pass the BI and psych you aren't competitive. It's not like you're losing out to someone with a better resume.

Passing the academy won't change whatever is causing you to fail.

...and, in my opinion, the part-time academy is MUCH more difficult than full time.