300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Being accepted into the "brotherhood" of police officers

So im a new hire officer, me and like 4 other guys. And its a really small department. 20 officers. And the police chief gave us a speech on, dont be a know it all, dont argue with an experienced officer, dont join a conversaion your not invited in, and i totally understand that you need to work your way up, and show that you deserve to be there. When we want to welcome you, you'll know when its your time, he said. After we got our address from the chief, about 1/2 of the guys came up to us and were like, dont take that personally, we'll have your back, and basicly welcomed us to "the family" of this very small young department. They were very friendly. One even invited us to a BBQ he's having at his house this weekend. Without the chief, administration, or day time veteran officers knowing. Im surethe chief wouldnt care, but we didnt see it coming.

This kinda got me thinking...

My question is, if an officer does a great job and is good at his/her work how long does it usually take for them to be accepted into the "family" or "brotherhood" of his/her fellow co-workers. What about huge agencies?

That depends on alot of things. The two biggies are the new officer's attitude and demeanor and (while some might disagree with this one) the "generation" of the veteran officer.